Skip to content

Cathy McMurray

December 31, 2010

If you take the time to weed through all the scented soaps shaped like mustaches or silhouetted deer heads on everything under the sun you’ll find some artists making very interesting and affordable original artworks on Etsy. Those artists are very accessible as well.  I would like to introduce you to one of them- Cathy McMurray. Cathy was kind enough to write a few words about each of the pieces.

Enjoy. Then check out her Etsy store HERE.

She also writes a wonderful blog. Click HERE to see it.

Her Flickr page is also worth your time. Check it out HERE.

Away. 8x8x1/2" mixed media on birch panel

In “Away,” I wanted to capture the beauty and peace that I experienced in a recent trip to the Oregon coast.

Daydream. Original drawing.

There are a lot of different things going on in “Daydream,” but that’s how my mind works. Sometimes I feel like I can’t keep up with all the different ideas and thoughts running around in my head.

In the Clouds. 4x4x1/2" mixed media on birch panel

After a botched experiment with the finish, I had to rework this piece (“In the clouds”) by scraping away the top coat and painting over part of the original design. Setbacks are frustrating, but I’ve learned to embrace them as opportunities to try something new with my art.

Since this blog is an opportunity for me to share some of the talented people I come across I asked Cathy who she likes right now and she said, “Earlier this year, I came across the electrifying works of contemporary artist Rachell Sumpter. She paints worlds where tribal folk live in an aurora borealis utopia- just stunning!” See for yourself  HERE.

A HUGE thank you to Cathy for being the canary in my blog coal mine as I try a slightly different format. Now go buy her work.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2011 11:26 am

    Really, really appreciate Cathy’s work. For anyone thinking about purchasing a piece – do it! I have two prints – they are shipped with care and just beautiful in person.

  2. January 2, 2011 7:15 am

    Chris, thanks for featuring my art on your blog. It’s always so encouraging when I meet another artist/art enthusiast who blogs about all the great art that’s out there. I look forward to seeing all of your wonderful finds.

    Charissa, thanks for your lovely comment and for your support!

Leave a comment